The Beer I Drink….Medalla Light

August 10, 2006 at 7:48 pm 38 comments

Im being beer fan since a long time ago. I have read about beer and taste all the beer i can.In my new blog i decide to let you know about the beers i taste.

To start i decide to write about the beer i have drink the most… Medalla Light . Medalla light is a light lager with dark color and i nice taste made by Cerveceria India in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico.Medalla is a really good beer for Puerto Rico’s temperature. They sale this beer only in Puerto Rico and in some places in Orlando, Florida ( where a lot a Puerto Rican people lives).If you come to Puerto Rico you have to taste some medallas.

They are about a buck out of the expensive areas likes hotel, restaurants….

Entry filed under: Beer, Lagers.

Blog, Blog, Blog…. Puerto Rico and Panama 1-1

38 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jack d. levine  |  September 13, 2006 at 6:38 pm

    Great beer,price is right.I live in P.R

  • 2. Robert  |  September 26, 2006 at 9:55 pm

    One of my favorite beers. Travel to PR twice a year and always have several when there. Is Orlando the only place in US to get them? Does anyone know if there is a place in Dallas?

    Thanks

  • 3. jose  |  July 26, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    where in orlando can i find medalla

  • 4. Tati  |  October 21, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    I have a twelve-pack of medalla light. does anyone want to take them off my hand? email at tativalenti@netscape.net

  • 5. Janet  |  November 8, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    Where in NY (Bronx,manhattan) can I find Medalla light?

  • 6. Xanady Ruiz  |  December 21, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Where in Orlando can you find this beer? its the best beer ever

  • 7. Ed Koveleski  |  January 23, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Where can I buy Medalla Light beer in Pemmsylvania

  • 8. Joel Lozada  |  January 23, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    I wiil like to get in contact with Medalla so they can be one of the sponsors for the event taking place in Vega Baja Puerto Rico 1 and 2 of March we have as the host Dennis Rodman (NBA Sper star) My name is Joel Lozada Coordinator of this event please fill free to contact me at 954-968-6145 or 954-415-9333. it will be a plessure for me to work with Medalla Corp. to be one of the sponsors, Than you! the name of this event is “Motores y Gigantes” please contact me as soon as posible.

  • 9. don gertzman  |  February 7, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I have been a beer drinker for 45 years and this is buy far the best beer there is. Can I buy this in south florida? Where in Orlando is this being sold? I cannot believe this is not sold in Miami or Ft Lauderdale.
    How can I become a distributor in south florida?

  • 10. Louis Cruz  |  April 5, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    The best beer in the world!!!

  • 11. Tuto  |  June 25, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    All you guys don’t have any sense of what a good beer taste. Of all the beers that exist do you think that medalla light is one the best of the world!!!, please. The taste is awful is a salty sweetness watery and weirdly foul beer and the aroma is wet hay, faint honey and, I am not kidding, urine. I am a proud puertorican, we have the greatest musicians and we have great professional in every area but I am very honest, not everything that is made here is the best and in terms of beer we are in the middle ages. There are so many styles of beers, but desafortunate the only ones available in PR are the worst lagers around, like Budweiser, Coorslight, Medalla light, Corona, etc.. only the biggest and most commercially brands. If you want a great puertorican beer very fresh, go to Old Harbor in Old San Juan and taste all the kinds that they offer. If you want a refreshing lager the Santo Viejo (great Pilsner) is for you. Also the Old Harbor (it have a passion fruit taste) and Taina are great refreshindg beers. if you like a stout then the Kofresi. In that place you will find what a real good beer should taste. Those beers are the ones that any puertorican should be proud of.

  • 12. Christian  |  June 26, 2008 at 1:28 am

    According to management, the beer was awarded for its manufacturing process, the quality of the product, and commitment to its unique taste. The awards were: Gold medal and best beer in its class in the International Golden Lager category at the 2007 New Zealand Beer Awards, Quality Medal for the third consecutive year at the World Selection contest 2007, and Quality Medal at the Australian International Beer Awards 2007 (the second biggest beer competition in the world).
    Thats a lot for a local brew in such a tiny Island.. !!!

  • 13. David  |  June 26, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Where in orlando I can find this beer????

  • 14. Tuto  |  June 27, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I know very well the awards of the beer. Quality of the procces of beer is one thing and quiality of the final product is another (taste, aroma, etc..). You can have the best quality in production but not achieved the best taste. Why Cervecería India do not make anymore the Medalla regular???, because nobody like the taste of the beer, so they water down it and release Medalla Light. Cervecería India is a big brewery that only purpose is mass production, to make a lot of money compromising the taste of their product. In the beer world the ligth beers are consider a lower class and is not that important. The best brewers not necesary are the biggest companies. An example is the these two independent small breweries that have their beers in the top 50 of the world. 1- Hair of the Dogs (Portland) 2- AleSmith (California, that have 3 of their beers in the top 50), thats is really an achievment.

  • 15. Juan  |  July 3, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I searched for my family for 39 1/2 years and luckily I found most of them. Long story. Enough of that.
    I don’t generally drick beer because it has a tendency to bloat me and give me a headache, but I just want to mention that on my last two trips to PR I ordered Medalla beer. Man was I surprised. I was at Boqueron Playa and stopped at the Tattoo Bar and oredered some rum. That’s normally my drink. Great drinks there by the way.
    I left there and walked out towards the beach and I stopped at a little place and ordered some Medalla. I was there for quite a while and drank (3) six packs. It was Great and so was the owner and his help. I came back the next day and spent the day on the beach and went through (2) before I got home that night. I ate Bacalaito fritos all night tambien.
    I need to find a place that will ship it to me at a reasonable price. If anyone can help please let me know. That’s now my beer. Medalla come to the Northwest states.

  • 16. francis  |  July 13, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    where can i get medalla beer in miami or in the state of florida?

  • 17. Luisa Cotto  |  July 22, 2008 at 3:04 am

    If is the best beer…..why they dont sell Medalla in Florida…im here and theres is Heineken, Coors Light……

    Medalla is exclusive of PR??

  • 18. mark  |  July 24, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    tuto: The taste is awful is a salty sweetness watery and weirdly foul beer and the aroma is wet hay, faint honey and, I am not kidding, urine.

    where’d you find this? (your words?) maybe off of Metalmonk.

    metalmonk from beeradvocate: Aroma is wet hay, faint honey and, I am not kidding, urine. That weird salty sweetness of the stuff.

    c’mon dude. stop reading other ppls reviews and have your own oppionion

  • 19. Mariela Perez  |  August 20, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Medalla Light es la mejor cerveza del mundo, de todas las que he probado ninguna se compara con ella.

  • 20. Bryan  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Where in orlando can i find medalla light??

  • 21. mare  |  February 1, 2009 at 6:55 am

    where can I find medallas in orlando???

  • 22. thebeermaster  |  February 16, 2009 at 6:30 am

    tuto has small balls and likes barnyard animals. he must be drunk on gin if he’s writing the things he’s written about medalla.
    medalla light is delicious and in the words of tuto’s mother, like a second heaven in your mouth.

  • 23. jayman  |  February 23, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Tuto, i don’t think you are puertorican if you talk about Medalla like that. I just came from PR last week and i had nothing but Medalla lights while down and I have to admit on the way back I had to smuggle a six pack in my luggage just to be happy at home. If anyone can find out where in the U S, preferably in the CT and NY area, there is Medalla lights. please post it on here and i won’t care about spending gas just to go and pick some up.

  • 24. richard  |  July 30, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    I WAS JUST ON VACATION IN PUERTO RICO AND I HAPPEN TO HAVE AN MEDALLA LIGHT . WHAT A BEER! JUST THE PERFECT BLEND. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND MEDALLA LIGHT START IT’S SALES IN THE STATES WITH AN MASSIVE DISTRIBUTION . I ALSO HOPE THEY CAN JOIN FORCES WITH COOR’S LIGHT AND JUST SALE THIS BEER ALL OVER.

  • 25. Gerald  |  August 28, 2009 at 6:19 am

    I just got back from vacation in PR & Medalla Light is fantastic beer ! I tried all the beers at The Old Harbor Brewrey and they were good, but nothing left that impression like Medalla. The first day we stocked up on Medalla (not even knowing what it tasted like) & Miller Lite. Well the last day, we hadn’t even opened the Miller Light – so we took it with us and gave it to the guys at Enterprise Car Rental. We had a six pack left of Medalla & drank it all before we went into the airport. I’ve searched online, but no leads to where I can buy it in the DFW area. So I’m gonna ask my family to send me some – I’m hoping that is not a difficult task. But I strongly agree that it’s sales would sky rocket if it was introduced here in the US.

  • 26. Jennifer  |  November 2, 2009 at 2:19 am

    I recently vacationed in Ponce, Puerto Rico. I am IN LOVE WITH MEDALLA LIGHT! I I am willing to pay almost anything for this wonderful brew to be bought here in the states. Why can we not buy this online? I have not found one online site that sells it. If anyone out there knows, please e-mail me at jenmcmichael03@yahoo.com. PRETTY PLEASE & THANKS YOU 🙂

  • 27. Danny Afshar  |  December 3, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Where can i find medalla light in Phoenix Arizona>

  • 28. Neiann  |  March 30, 2010 at 2:33 am

    whereeee, whereeeee in ORLANDO can I find MEDALLA LIGHT!!!!??????? pleaseeeee LET ME KNOWW!!!!!!

  • 29. Neiann  |  March 30, 2010 at 2:35 am

    wheeereee???, WHEREEEE inORLANDO I can FIND MEDALLA LIGHT!!!????? PLEASEE!!!!!!!!!……….LET ME KNOWWW!!!

  • 30. SraGringa  |  March 31, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    If anyone knows a way to ship medalla (AKA yellows) to South Florida, please let us know!!!!

  • 31. Pete Wallace  |  October 1, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Check It out!! http://www.northwestliquidgold.com

  • 32. Rico Sniper  |  October 3, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Its a good beer, but ive had better in Germany and other parts of Europe. They say its a great beer but how can that be said when you cant find it nowhere. Plus the technology and recipe behind it is not from puerto rico either.

  • 33. Jose Juan  |  November 30, 2010 at 4:35 am

    Medalla Light is exclusive to Puerto Rico. It is not exported anywhere else. I think due to some unofficial embargo by Anheuser-Busch and Miller (it would take a chunk of their market). Ocassionally some stores in the big cities that have a significant population of Puerto Ricans will have Medalla Light available. It is unofficially imported and sold at double the price. In Chicago I know Armitage Produce has had it for about $10 the six pack.

  • 34. Tedopr  |  August 5, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Trough the flat rate Priority Mail large box, I get my Medalla Light 12 pack every month. It is costing me 15.00 in freight, but I have them here in Memphis TN.

  • 35. Global  |  March 21, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    All this talk about medalla makes me want one… I’ll grab one from the fridge…. anyone else?…o and for everyone that says medalla is crap…jump of el morro…and if you dont know what that is then get off my island so I can drink my medalla in peace.

  • 36. Frankie47  |  April 22, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Medalla light is now sold in Miami, FL! The only place where you can get it is in your local Walgreens Pharmacy. I got mine already.

  • 37. Norry  |  October 7, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    I lived in Puerto Rico for three years and drank Medalla exclusively. I stumbled across a six-pack one night in a gas station/convenience store in Gainesville as I was driving from Miami to New Orleans. For those in the area jonesing for Medalla, the gas station was the first one on the the right on the last of the four I-75 South exits in Gainesville. I couldn’t believe my eyes and bought it right away. The price was competitive.

    I live in New Orleans and would love to be able to buy it here. I may contact Walgreen’s about expanding to NOLA. I’m surprised Walmart has never picked it up.

  • 38. Lola  |  September 10, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Tuto must be the owner of Old Harbor Brewery because NOTHING compares to Medalla!!! The best beer ever!!!! Proud to be a Puertorican!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 28,432 hits

